Richard Neal Congressman, Massachusetts

Richard Neal (D-MA) is the Ranking Member on the House Ways and Means Committee and a longtime supporter of the New Markets Tax Credit.

Claudia Tenney Congresswoman, New York

Representative Tenney is a champion of the New Markets Tax Credit. She introduced the NMTC Extension Act of 2023, which would provide a permanent extension of the program.

Steve Daines Senator, Montana

Senator Steve Daines (R-MT) is a lead sponsor of the NMTC Extension Act of 2023.

Marcia Sigal Acting Director, CDFI Fund

Marcia Sigal currently serves as Acting Director of the CDFI Fund and is the Deputy Director for Policy and Programs for the CDFI Fund.

Noel Poyo Deputy Assistant Secretary for Community Economic Development, US Treasury Department

Noel Andrés Poyo has served as the U.S. Department of Treasury's Deputy Assistant Secretary for Community Economic Development (OCED) since February 2021, managing a portfolio that includes the CDFI Fund, the Emergency Capital Investment Program and the OCED policy team.


Tuesday, December 12

8:00 am – 9:45 amNMTC Coalition Board meeting

Hamilton room, Madison Hotel, hot breakfast

10:00 am – 10:10 amWelcome by NMTC Coalition President

Aisha Benson, President of Nonprofit Finance Fund

10:10 am – 10:30 amOPENING KEYNOTE: Claudia Tenney (R-NY)

(introduced by En Jung Kim, JP Morgan Chase)

10:30 am – 10:50 amMORNING KEYNOTE: Noel Poyo

U.S. Department of Treasury's Deputy Assistant Secretary for Community Economic Development

11:00 am – 12:00 pmUpdate on CRA

Moderator: Paul Anderson
Barry Wides, OCC
Buzz Roberts, NAAHL
Dafina Williams, OFN

12:00 pm - 1:30pmLunch

12:30 pm - 12:50 pmRep. Richard Neal (D-MA)

Keynote speaker

1:30 pm -2:15 pmNMTC Legislative Report & Hill Panel

Moderator: Bob Rapoza, Rapoza Associates
Grace Enda, Senate Finance Committee
Caroline Oakum, Sen. Daines
Stephen Simonetti, Rep. Tenney

2:15 pm - 3:15 pmNMTC and the Law

Moderator: Eileen Fitzgerald
Debbie Kleban, Applegate & Thorne-Thomsen
Carol Mihalic, Kutak Rock
Christin Pertroski, Holland and Knight

3:15 pm - 5:15 pmCapitol Hill Meetings

5:30 pm - 7:00 pmHill Reception

Senate Room 325, Kennedy Caucus Room, Russell Senate Office Building

Wednesday, December 13

7:30 am – 8:30 amHot Breakfast

8:00 am – 8:30 amNMTC Coalition Annual Business Meeting

8:30 am – 9:25 amOpportunities in Climate Funding

Moderator: Jim Howard, Dudley Ventures
Beth Bafford, Calvert Impact and Climate United -??
Trenton Allen, Sustainable Capital Advisors and Justice Climate Fund
Trisha Miller, DC Green Bank

9:30 am – 9:55 amKeynote: Senator Steve Daines (R-MT)

Introduction by Dave Glaser, MoFi

9:55 am– 10:10 amBreak

Snacks and drinks

10:10 am – 11:15amInvestor Roundtable

Moderators: Ira Weinstein, CohnReznick and Mike Novogradac, Novogradac & Co., LLP
Melissa McCormack, Bank of America
Will Richter, TD Community Development Corporation
Lee Winslett, Wells Fargo

11:15 am - 11:30 amPolicy Keynote: Marcia Sigal

Acting Director, CDFI Fund

11:30 am – 12:15 pmInsights from the Treasury Department

CDFI Fund Panelists:
Christopher Allison - Program Manager for NMTCs
Trefor Henry - Associate Program Manager Compliance, Monitoring & Evaluation
Oscar Gonzales - Associate Program Manager, Financial Strategy & Research

12:15 pmWrap-Up: Aisha Benson

12:30 pmConference Adjourns


Location Information

  • December 12th 2023 from 10:00 AM to 7:30 PM ESTDecember 13th 2023 from 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM EST
  • Madison Hotel
  • 1177 15th St NW, Washington, DC, 20005 US



Billing Information

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • Discover
RegFox Event Registration Software